Lyles-Simpson Award Recipient 2016



Michael S. Ray

MICHAEL S. RAY

It is with great pleasure that the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission presents this year's *Lyles-Simpson Award* to Michael S. Ray. This prestigious award is presented annually to an individual, agency, or organization which has contributed to the betterment of the fisheries of the Gulf of Mexico through significant biological, industrial, legislative, enforcement, or administrative activities. Mike and his wife Nancy, have been married for 36 years and they have 2 children, Andrew and Jennifer. Mike and Nancy currently reside in Whitehouse, Texas.

Mike began his career with the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in Corpus Christi as Marine Fish Hatchery Regional Director in March 1988. In addition to directing marine fish hatchery programs, he worked with design engineers to develop construction documents and specifications for Sea Center Texas, oversaw expansion of the CCA/CPL Marine Development Center facility and successfully interacted with Texas shrimp farm operators regarding regulatory and permitting issues of exotic species.

In April 1992, Mike moved to Austin Headquarters after being promoted to Assistant Chief of Fish Hatcheries. Later that year, he became Director of Fish Hatcheries for Inland Fisheries, following the reorganization of the Fisheries Division. Mike spent much of his time over the next four years working on the design, construction and operation of the Texas Freshwater Fishery Center.

Mike became Director of Field Operations for Coastal Fisheries in November 1996 and Deputy Division Director in 1998. In addition to his administrative duties, Mike served as Commissioner for the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission, a position he held for 16 years including two stints as Chairman. He was appointed by the U.S. Secretary of Commerce to serve on the Gulf of Mexico Fishery Management Council in a number of capacities. Mike has been heavily involved with sea turtle conservation projects in Texas and Mexico for 20 years. He was a member of the Bi-National Kemp's Ridley Recovery Plan team and has worked alongside biologists on nesting beaches near Rancho Nuevo on several occasions and received numerous awards including the Texas Shrimp Association's Kemp's Ridley Award and NOAA Fisheries' Special Recognition Award. After 25 years of dedicated service, Mike retired from the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department in 2013.

Throughout his career, Mike has had a positive impact on many people as well as the resources in the Gulf of Mexico. His dedication and commitment are greatly appreciated by those who worked and interacted with him. It is with great pride that the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission presents this year's *Lyles-Simpson Award* to such a worthy recipient.











Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission Past Lyles-Simpson Award Recipients

Charles H. Lyles	1984
Theodore B. Ford	1985
J.Y. Christmas	1986
John Breaux	1987
John Ray Nelson	1988
I.B. "Buck" Byrd	1989
Hugh A. Swingle	1990
John A. Mehos	1991
J. Burton Angelle	1992
Louis A. Villanova	1993
Theodore H. Shepard	1994
Edwin A. Joyce, Jr.	1995
Tommy D. Candies	1996
Walter M. Tatum	1997
Thomas L. Heffernan	1998
Trent Lott	1999
James M. Barkuloo	2000
Walter W. Fondren, III	2001
Jerald K. Waller	2002
Andrew J. Kemmerer	2003
Hal R. Osborn	2004
Leroy Kiffe	2005
Robert P. Jones	2006
Wayne E. Swingle	2007
Ralph Rayburn	2008
William S. "Corky" Perret	2009
Albert L. King	2010
Virginia A. Vail	2011
R. Vernon Minton	2012
Larry B. Simpson	2013
Michael C. Voisin	2014
Ellie Francisco Roche	2015