## Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission Past Charles H. Lyles Award Recipients

	1001
Charles H. Lyles	1984
Theodore B. Ford	1985
J.Y. Christmas	1986
John Breaux	1987
John Ray Nelson	1988
I.B. "Buck" Byrd	1989
Hugh A. Swingle	1990
John A. Mehos	1991
J. Burton Angelle	1992
Louis A. Villanova	1993
Theodore H. Shepard	1994
Edwin A. Joyce, Jr.	1995
Tommy D. Candies	1996
Walter M. Tatum	1997
Thomas L. Heffernan	1998
Trent Lott	1999
James M. Barkuloo	2000
Walter W. Fondren, III	2001
Jerald K. Waller	2002
Andrew J. Kemmerer	2003
Hal R. Osborn	2004
Leroy Kiffe	2005
Robert P. Jones	2006
Wayne E. Swingle	2007
Ralph Rayburn	2008

## Charles H. Lyles Award Recipient 2009



William S. "Corky" Perret

## William S. "Corky" Perret

The Commission takes great pleasure in announcing that Mr. William S. "Corky" Perret has been selected as the 2009 *Charles H. Lyles Award* recipient. He and his wife Nancy currently live in Poplarville, Mississippi.

After finishing a Bachelor of Science degree and graduate school from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, he went to work for Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Department at their marine laboratory on Grand Terre in 1966. During the next 30 years, he progressively held more and more responsible positions culminating his time in Louisiana as the Assistant Secretary in charge of all fisheries, both freshwater and marine in 1996. Upon leaving Louisiana, he immediately went to work with the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources filling the vacant post of Director of Marine Fisheries. He held that position until recently when he advanced to the Deputy Director of the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources.

Throughout his career, Mr. Perret has served on numerous committees and subcommittees for the Gulf of Mexico Fisheries Management Council and the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission. He is a past voting member representing Mississippi at the Interstate Shellfish Sanitation Conference (ISSC). Corky is also a member of the American Fisheries Society, serving on the Marine and Estuarine Committee as well as the Vice-President, Northeast Gulf of Mexico Chapter. He has served on a wide variety of boards, teams and task forces including Marine Fisheries Initiative (MARFIN) Program Management Board, Gulf and Caribbean Fisheries Institute, the World Mariculture Society, the EPA Gulf of Mexico Program's Technical Advisory Committee, Louisiana Sea Grant Advisory Council, Governor's Task Force on Shrimp Management, Save Our Coastline Commission, Saltonstall-Kennedy United States Review Panel, Louisiana Task Force on Shrimp Management, LSU Marine and Coastal Fisheries Advisory Board, Lake Pontchartrain Task Force and Louisiana Wildlife

Biologists Association. He has spoken throughout the United States and in several foreign countries. He is sought out as a presenter for his expertise in the areas of shrimp management, finfish management, oyster resources enhancement, habitat restoration, by-catch and coastal wetlands issues.

Mr. Perret has been involved in the fisheries arena for over 43 years and has had a positive impact on numerous individuals throughout not only the Gulf of Mexico, but the United States. While he can never be replaced, he will be missed for his wit and as an unwavering champion for marine resources and their users. It is with great pleasure that the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission presents this year's *Charles H. Lyles Award* to such a deserving recipient.





