Charles H. Lyles Award Recipient 2005

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission Past Charles H. Lyles Award Recipients

Charles H. Lyles	1984
Theodore B. Ford	1985
J.Y. Christmas	1986
John Breaux	1987
John Ray Nelson	1988
2	1989
	1990
8	1991
J. Burton Angelle	1992
e	1993
Theodore H. Shepard	1994
-	1995
Tommy D. Candies	1996
Walter M. Tatum	1997
Thomas L. Heffernan	1998
Trent Lott	1999
James M. Barkuloo	2000
Walter W. Fondren, III	2001
Jerald K. Waller	2002
Andrew J. Kemmerer	2003
Hal R. Osborn	2004

Leroy Kiffe

Leroy Kiffe

The Commission takes great pleasure in announcing that Mr. Leroy Kiffe has been selected as the 2005 Charles H. Lyles Award recipient. Mr. Kiffe and his wife, Noella, live in Lockport, Louisiana. They have three children, Darcy, Debbie and Janet, eight grandchildren and one great grandchild.

Mr. Kiffe's career began at nineteen years of age when he bought his first trawling boat. He trawled for about thirty-five years and then switched professions to the tugboat business in 1981. Throughout his life, he has served on many different boards and received numerous awards. He served on the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission from 1976 to 1996 and after twenty years of service, received a plaque for outstanding contribution, wisdom and friendship. After a number of years on the Chamber of Commerce, he received the *Pioneer Award* in 1979. He has been involved with the Louisiana Shrimp Association board for numerous years and served as their president from 1981-1982. In 1985, he was honored by the Association with a plaque for exceptional service to the shrimp industry. And he also served on the Louisiana Seafood Promotion Marketing Board from 1983-1984.



Mr. Kiffe is held in high esteem by all those who know him, and the GSMFC is indeed honored to have Leroy Kiffe as its Charles H. Lyles Award recipient for 2005. It is with great pleasure that the Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission presents this year's Charles H. Lyles Award to such an admirable and deserving recipient.



Leroy Kiffe with 1994 CHL Award winner, Ted Shepard